Not only has Cristiano Ronaldo won a fourth Ballon d’Or, but he did so with more than double the points of his nearest rival Lionel Messi.

A total of 173 journalists from across the world voted on the award, they gave five points to the player they put in first place, three for second and one for third.

Bearing the voting system in mind Ronaldo’s 745 points to Messi’s 316 is a truly remarkable win. Antoine Griezmann who finished third gathered 198 points.

During the voting period Ronaldo scored 35 goals in 34 La Liga games and also hit home 13 goals in 13 Champions League games. Furthermore, he scored three goals at Euro 2016 as Portugal won the competition for the first time and with seven other international goals it brought his tally to 58 for the year.

These numbers help to explain why his victory was so overwhelming and why a number of players who were nominated didn’t receive any points at all.

There were eleven players that didn’t collect any points, perhaps most notably Sergio Aguero, who scored 35 times for Manchester City and Argentina between November 22 2015 and November 20 2016.

Kevin De Bruyne and Hugo Lloris also failed to receive any points which highlights that it is no small achievement for Riyad Mahrez and Jamie Vardy to earn 20 and 11 points and finish seventh and eighth respectively.

Barcelona duo Luis Suarez and Neymar completed the top five with 91 and 68 points while Real Madrid and Wales forward Gareth Bale was just behind with 60 points.

In total there were seven La Liga players in the top 10 and Mahrez and Vardy were the only Premier League players to make the list.

Despite scoring 43 goals for Manchester United and PSG Zlatan Ibrahimovic received just five points and finished 13th.